Aged Care Reforms

What are the Aged Care Reforms?

Over the next few years, we’re going to see lots of positive changes in the way aged care is delivered in response to the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

We've put together this short explainer video on the aged care reforms and what they mean for you, and the article below goes into these reforms in more detail. 

The Aged Care Royal Commission

The Royal Commission identified the need for aged care reforms that placed older Australians receiving support and services at the centre of their care, to ensure that the system remains relevant and responsive to their changing needs over time.

The aged care reforms can be grouped into 5 main categories; quality and safety, funding, access, workforce, and governance.

The 5 Categories of Aged Care Reforms

Aged Care Reforms Timeline

light blue star

Aged Care Star Ratings

What are the Star Ratings in Aged Care?

The star ratings are all about supporting older Australians and their families to make an informed choice about their care.

Aged care providers are assessed on 4 categories; resident's experience, compliance, staffing and quality measures.

4 Categories of Assessment

How are the Star Ratings calculated?

A aged care provider's total score of the 4 assessment categories is used to determine their star rating.

star ratings img

We’ve put together a short video that will explain the star ratings and what it means for you.

Here's some helpful information to understand more about the Aged Care Star Ratings:

light blue star

Home Care Reform

Aged Care in your home

We know how important it is for older people to receive quality care and support to live independently in their home for as long as possible.

That’s why the introduction of the Support at Home Program is so important.

The Support at Home Program is a new program and funding model for in home aged care that replaces existing home-care programs.

If you would like more information on the Home Care reform, get in contact with our Home Care team.

light blue star

The 8 Aged Care Quality Standards

Safe, Quality and Person-centred Aged Care

Improvements are being made to the Aged Care Quality Standards in response to the Royal Commission into Aged Care.  

These changes are all about making sure older people get safe, quality and person-centred care.

Standard 1: Consumer dignity and choice 

I am treated with dignity and respect, and can maintain my identity. I can make informed choices about my care and services, and live the life I choose.


Standard 2: Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

I am a partner in ongoing assessment and planning that helps me get the care and services I need for my health and well-being.


Standard 3: Personal care and clinical care 

I get personal care, clinical care, or both personal care and clinical care, that is safe and right for me.


Standard 4: Services and supports for daily living 

I get the services and supports for daily living that are important for my health and well-being and that enable me to do the things I want to do.


Standard 5: Organisation’s service environment 

I feel I belong and I am safe and comfortable in the organisation’s service environment.


Standard 6: Feedback and complaints 

I feel safe and am encouraged and supported to give feedback and make complaints. I am engaged in processes to address my feedback and complaints, and appropriate action is taken.


Standard 7: Human resources 

I get quality care and services when I need them from people who are knowledgeable, capable and caring.


Standard 8: Organisational Governance 

I am confident the organisation is well run. I can partner in improving the delivery of care and services.


Looking for more information?

If you would like more information, please get in contact via our dedicated reforms email